Motor State Challenge

2024 Motor State Challenge

The 16th Annual Motor State Challenge will take place July 18-20, 2024. Each year, this three-day Pro-Touring event brings together as many as 100 drivers from across the US and Canada to compete for fun and bragging rights. Drivers compete in standard and manufacturer Vintage and Late Model classes, as well as the QA1 #goDRIVEit class, which is designed for participants who drive their vehicle to the event, race it, then drive it home.

The event will begin on Thursday with a spirited cruise through the SW Michigan countryside, led by the incredible Berrien County Sheriff’s Motorcycle Unit. Destination and dinner details will be announced shortly. 

On Friday, drivers will spend the day at South Haven’s GingerMan Raceway, where they compete in timed lap sessions on the 2.14-mile road course, famed for its high-speed straights and short sprints, long sweeping corners and tight apexes, heavy and light braking, and elevation changes.

Saturday, racers will hit the blacktop at Tire Rack’s South Bend headquarters for the Autocross event. Drivers navigate the twisty and complex course as they compete for the quickest time without any cones as collateral damage. The day concludes with the awards ceremony and door prize giveaways.

Register for the 2024 Motor State Challenge

15th Annual Motor State Challenge Winners

Congratulations to our winning drivers of the 2023 Motor State Challenge!

Below are the top 3 drivers in each class except for the #goDRIVEit class where only one award was given in Vintage and Late Model. In the event of a points tie, the faster Autocross time is the tiebreaker. 

Vintage Class

Champion: Dan Ballard #72 – 1972 Chevrolet Nova (48 points)
2nd Place: Donny Freise #32 – 1971 Chevrolet Camaro (38 points)
3rd Place: Dickie Lee Gregory #33 – 1969 Chevrolet Camaro (38 points)

Late Model Class

Champion: James Elliott #37 – 2010 Chevrolet Corvette Z06 (50 points)
2nd Place: Danny King #76 – 2019 Porsche GT# RS S (44 points)
3rd Place: Anthony Grace #9 – 2017 Chevrolet Camaro (42 points)

Manufacturers Vintage Class

Champion: Tony
Grzelokowski #57 (ABC Performance) – 1970 Chevrolet Chevelle (50 points*)

2nd Place: Cary Exline #83 (Kunzman & Associates) – 1969 Chevrolet C10 (28 points)
3rd Place: Jason Sugden #79 (Kunzman & Associates) – 1969 Chevrolet C10 (10 points)

Manufacturers Late Model Class

Champion: Christopher Bickford #35 (Hawk Performance) – 2023 BMW M3 Comp X-Drive (50 points)
2nd Place: Dan
Fisher #5 (Eaton Performance) – 2010 Ford Mustang GT500 (46 points)

3rd Place: Ryan
Ousley #6 (Eaton Performance) – 2010 Ford Mustang GT500 (40 points)

#goDRIVEit Vintage

Winner: Richard Giesey #17 – 1971 Chevrolet Camaro (50 points)

#goDRIVEit Late Model Class

Winner: Chris Jacobs #1 – 2018 Chevrolet Camaro (50 points)

Fastest Lap Awards

Road Course Vintage: Dan Ballard #72 – 1972 Chevrolet Nova [1:38.3]
Road Course Late Model: James Elliott #37 – 2010 Chevrolet Corvette Z06 [1:32.0]
Autocross Vintage: Dan Ballard #72 – 1972 Chevrolet Nova [33.74
Autocross Late Model: James Elliott #37 – 2010 Chevrolet Corvette Z06 [32.98]

Road Course Manufacturers Vintage: Tony Grzelakowski #57 (ABC Performance) – 1970 Chevrolet Chevelle [1:45.1]
Road Course Manufacturers Late Model: Christopher Bickford #35 (Hawk Performance) – 2023 BMW M3 Comp X-Drive [1:37.2]
Autocross Manufacturers Vintage: Tony
Grzelakowski #57 (ABC Performance) – 1970 Chevrolet Chevelle  [35.05]

Autocross Manufacturers Late Model: Christopher Bickford #35 (Hawk Performance) – 2023 BMW M3 Comp X-Drive (32.84]

Additional Motor State Challenge Awards

Optima Ultimate Street Car Invitational Invite/Spirit of the Event Award: Levi
Zimmerman #23 – 1970 Chevrolet C10

The Optima Ultimate Street Car Invitational Invite and Spirit of the Event award gives the winner a spot to compete at the 2023 Optima Ultimate Street Car Invitational in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Todd Gartshore Memorial Award: Mike Ballard 
The Todd Gartshore Memorial Award is awarded to someone who has gone above and beyond in showing their passion and dedication to the event.

People’s Choice Award: Paul VanNus #13– 1987 Chevrolet Camaro
The People’s Choice Award is a very special honor awarded to a driver/car by his/her peers.

*In the event of a points tie, the faster Autocross time is the tiebreaker.

2023 pictures are up on Flickr! Check out our Flickr Collection with pictures from the event!

Congratulations to All!